Funny Kid Story

 

One of my favorite things about being a teacher is some of the things that I have heard my kiddos say…or in this case something one of them wrote on a homework assignment.

When I was in college and doing my student teaching, I was lucky enough to be back at my old High School working beside some of my favorite teachers. It was Spring Semester when I was doing my student teaching, which meant that part of my job was to help my Cooperating Teacher prep our kiddos for the OGT. Let me just start by saying this was no easy task. We had a limited amount of time to get in OGT prep, plus for me to teach my lessons and do everything that I needed to in order to graduate. I would be lying if I told you that there were no bumps in the road. I had an amazing CT to work with, and her motto was “there’s always another plan!” and let’s just say we had a lot of “other plans”! Between snow days and “cold” days and any other obstacle the universe wanted to throw at me, I was ready to cry a few times. But I managed to hold it together and I managed to make it out alive! But that’s besides the point….

My point is that during all of this craziness, we needed a fun (yet educational) activity for the kiddos to work on. My CT showed me a few different things that I could choose from and the activity that I decided to use was one on the Salem Witch Trials. It was a worksheet where they had to read through and answer the questions based on what they read. Seems easy right?? I thought so too, until I started grading them….

Working with high school kids (and knowing how they think…I mean I was only 4.5 years out of high school), you would think I would’ve been prepared for what I was about to read. But if we’re being honest here….I never laughed so hard in my life. In fact, I had to stop what I was doing, read it at least 3 times (you know to make sure that I wasn’t seeing things) and then I had to show it to my CT.

So as I’m grading, one of the questions read something like this….

“During the Salem Witch Trials, some of the girls began acting in strange ways and lashing out. Based on the reading can you name one thing that would could have caused this behavior?”

There was a specific answer that I was looking for…I cannot remember it off the top of my head, but I can tell you that what this one particular student said…was not the answer.

The students answer read something like this…..(I’m paraphrasing but I do have a picture that I will insert at the bottom of this post)… “I believe that what was causing the girls to have fits is that it could have been that time of the month. Sometimes when it’s that time of the month girls get moody and can have mood swings.”

IT WAS THAT TIME OF THE MONTH?!?!?!?!?! I mean don’t get me wrong I laughed for a good 10 minutes that that answer, but the actual answer was right in front of the kids. All they had to do was read the article!

Don’t get me wrong there were a few other kids that had…interesting answers for other questions from this assignment. However, none of them were as entertaining as this one!

Oh the joys of being a teacher!

To all my teacher friends…have you ever had something like this happen to you??
To all of my friends who are not teachers, do you ever remember leaving silly answers on a quiz or a test or an assignment because you didn’t know the answer?? If so leave them in the comments below. I would love to read them!!

Xo’s Shelby

Leave a Reply

