6 Years and 43 Pounds Later

Have you ever been so comfortable with yourself and where you are in your life that you just didn’t really notice certain things that you probably should have?

IMG_1578

That was me back in 2011, I weighed about 220 pounds. I was in a relationship at the time, I was comfortable with who I was, I was happy (or so I thought) and I didn’t see the need to change anything about myself. At this point in my life I worked out occasionally, and when I did go to the gym, I hated it. It was honestly just not something I enjoyed doing. Until one day, something snapped inside of me, and I couldn’t stand the way I was feeling. I felt uncomfortable, I felt sluggish and I didn’t feel like myself. So with the help of my wonderful mom, and a gym membership, I began exercising regularly. The first 10 lbs or so came off relatively easy and I was super excited and encouraged. Then I started to realize that the pounds weren’t coming off as fast anymore and I didn’t feel like my body was changing. At this point I can honestly say I felt like giving up. But I started to slowly change my eating habits and slowly things started to change again.

Then one day at the gym there as a new fitness class going on, called Zumba. Little did I know how much this class would change my life. It easily became my favorite class. Why was it my favorite?? Because for exactly 1 hour I didn’t feel like I was working out! I was burning calories and I was sweating but I was having fun! At the gym!!! Who knew?!?! I was so glad that I had found an amazing class that I could take that would help me to motivate myself to become a healthier version of me, without actually feeling like I was working out!

I slowly started to incorporate other classes as well; like bootcamp, turbo kick, piyo, and yoga. Slowly over the course of time the pounds just started to melt away. I felt more energetic, I was a much happier person in general and I didn’t dread to look at myself in pictures. It took me about 3 years to lose 43 lbs pounds. During those 3 years I had ups and downs, I wanted to give up, but I didn’t.

I’m not going to lie, there have been times over these past six years that I have still wanted to give up. In fact this past year I was in a major funk. I had a lot of things happen in my life that made me just feel….blah. I didn’t feel like myself but I wasn’t willing to admit that either. I may not have stopped going to the gym, but my eating habits were not on point and to be completely honest when I was at the gym I was just there. I wasn’t putting my heart and soul into my workouts.

What did I do to fix that?? I joined a challenge group. I joined this group for a few reasons…

Accountability…I needed someone to help me be accountable for doing my workouts and for making good decisions in the kitchen.

Motivation…this group that I joined is not only helping me get back into the swing of things but we’re working on making a mental shift. If your mind isn’t in the right place you are holding your body back from getting optimal results. I never knew that until recently.

Change…I needed a major change in my life. I needed to get out of my comfort zone.

 

19366481_10158854497790164_3755249176691435611_n

This is me now. I honestly can’t tell you how much I weigh because I try to stay away from the scale…but we’ll talk about that more another time.

I’m not where I want to be, but I am also not where I was either. When I look at myself now, I still see things that I would love to change. But I also see a happier, healthier version of the girl that was in the first photograph.

My fitness journey has been going on for six yeas…but I can promise you that it’s not over yet! Health and fitness doesn’t have an end date. I will always strive to be better than the person that I was yesterday.

Follow me along this journey! I can’t wait to share it with all of you!

Xo’s Shelby

2 thoughts on “6 Years and 43 Pounds Later

  1. Hi Shelby!
    You look amazing! I can completely relate to you, with the ups and downs, and feeling discouraged. I myself struggle with my weight after having kids, but you have given me hope! You fought through temptations and persevered. Awesome work!
    Hopefully one day I can post an amazing progress story like yours.
    Xoxo joslynn wassing

    Like

    1. Joslynn,
      Thank you so much!! I am SO glad that I have given you hope!! I have so much faith in you!! You will find something that works for you and you will one day have an awesome transformation story all of your own!

      Like

Leave a Reply

